The agreement began in 2005 as a Trans-Pacific Strategic Partnership Agreement (TPSEP or P4). Member States have set a target of concluding the negotiations in 2012, but controversial issues such as agriculture, intellectual property, services and investment have led to new negotiations until their conclusion in 2015. Several negotiations have been conducted between Ottawa (2014), Hanoi (2014), Hawaii (2015) and Atlanta (2015). The approval of the TPP is one of the main objectives of the trade agenda of the administration of US President Barack Obama. Initially, only three countries participated in the negotiations on the creation of TPSEP: Chile, New Zealand and Singapore. Brunei later joined us. The original TPSEP agreement contains participation clauses and reaffirms the obligation for Member States to promote the participation of other countries in the agreement. The TPPA is a form of free trade agreement with many benefits. The agreement covers 11 countries that account for 40% of the total gross domestic product (GDP) of $107.5 trillion, or 793 million people. [1] Although this agreement does not concern China, the territory of the countries participating in the TPPA is the largest in the world, larger than the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). The TPP aims to promote trade and investment between Member States, promote innovation, growth and economic development, and promote job creation and creation.

Nevertheless, consultation with health professionals, Internet freedom activists, environmental activists, workers` groups and politicians has been criticized for being conducted in secret, the scope of the broad agreement and the controversial clauses of the project. The GATT was first discussed at the United Nations Conference on Trade and Employment and was the result of a failure of government consultations on the creation of an International Trade Organization (ITO). Signed by 23 countries on 30 October 1947 in Geneva, it came into force on 1 January 1948. This was the case until it was signed on 14 April 1994 in Marrakech by 123 countries, the Uruguay Round Agreement, which created the World Trade Organization (WTO) on 1 January 1995. The WTO succeeds the gatt and the original GATT text (GATT 1947) still takes place within the framework of the WTO, subject to the 1994 GATT amendment. [1] [2] Countries that did not become members of the GATT in 1995 must meet the minimum requirements set out in certain documents before they can join; As of September 2019, the list includes 36 countries. [3] The agreement is expected to boost exports and economic growth, create more jobs and bring prosperity to the 12 countries involved. The TPPA has also paved the way for competition by promoting competition in the economy. It can also help improve the standard of living of workers by normalising workers` legal standards and improving the environment. In January 2008, the United States agreed to participate in the liberalization of financial services trade with four member states (P4).

On September 22, 2008, U.S. Trade Representative Susan C. Schwab announced that the United States would begin negotiations with P4 countries to join the TPP, with the first round of negotiations in early 2009. The TPPA includes not only goods and services, but also financial services, telecommunications and food safety standards. It has an impact on policies and rules within member states. In Malaysia, Bumiputera`s public procurement policy, which involves Petronas, Khazanah and the Ministry of Finance, is of particular concern.